Kathy Reichs Books in Order

(Originally posted January 2012, most recently updated April 2017)

Kathy Reichs, like the lead character of her popular Temperance Brennan novel series, is a forensic anthropologist.

She is also a very successful novelist. As well as the Temperance Brennan novels, she has written a young-adult series which feature Tempe’s great-niece, Tori Brennan, and her friends. They are Virals (2010) and Seizure (2011), Code (2013), Shift (this is a short story available in ebook format) (2013), Swipe (this is another Kindle short) (2013) Exposure (2014), Shock (a short) (2015), Terminal (2015) and Trace Evidence (2016), a short story collection which includes Shift, Swipe, Shock and a new story, Spike.

Reichs is also a producer on and has written for the TV series inspired by her life and novels, Bones. She has a stand alone thriller due for release in July 2017, Two Nights: A Novel.

And, she won the 1997 Ellis Award for Best First Novel with Deja Dead, which was also a New York Times bestseller. Later, Break No Bones was short-listed for the 2007 Ellis Award for Best Novel.

She has also had many of her novels and shorts translated into French or German.

The Kathy Reichs Temperance Brennan Novels in order are:

Kathy Riechs deja dead book cover1.  Deja Dead (1997)

2.  Death du Jour (1999)

3.  Deadly Decisions (2000)

4.  Fatal Voyage (2001)

5.  Grave Secrets (2002)

6.  Bare Bones (2003)

7.  Monday Mourning (2004)

8.  Cross Bones (2005)

9.  Break No Bones (2006)

10.  Bones to Ashes (2007)

11.  Devil Bones (2008)

12.  206 Bones (2009)

13.  Spider Bones (US title) Mortal Remains (UK & Australian title) (2010)

14. Flash and Bones (2011)

15.  Bones Are Forever (2012)

16. Bones of the Lost (2013)

Novella: Bones in her Pocket (2013) (This is a short story in Audiobook format, not a full novel)

17. Bones Never Lie (2014) (includes the novella Swamp Bones, also available as a kindle single)

18. Speaking in Bones (2015)

Novella: Bones On Ice (2015)

The Bone Collection: Four Novellas (2016) This includes a new short story, First Bones, a prequel to Déjà Dead, in addition to the three other previously published novellas.

  5 comments for “Kathy Reichs Books in Order

  1. Star Valle
    November 3, 2012 at 4:15 pm

    your books are great!

  2. roger
    January 24, 2014 at 7:36 am

    Are the titles “Chasing the bones” or “Bones in her pocket” Kathy Reichs book Titles?

  3. Kirsten McCulloch
    March 4, 2014 at 2:05 pm

    Roger, Bones in her pocket is the latest Tempe Brennan book, (I have updated the list), but I don’t believe Chasing the Bones is one of hers.

  4. March 4, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    If you google Chasing the Bones, you will find it as a header in a page selling Flash and Bones, but I can’t see any other reference to that title.

  5. Suzanne Giguere
    December 27, 2017 at 4:00 am

    Could you please direct me to a site that would tell me the books that were translated witn the corresponding english title if they are not the same… some are easy to associate but others may be completly different

    Thank you very much,


Comments are closed.