Book Review: The Forests of Silence (Deltora Quest, Book 1)

Deltora Quest: The Forests of Silence, Emily Rodda, Scholastic

The Forests of Silence by Emily Rodda, 2000. Publisher: Scholastic Press, $14.99 from Fishpond

Do you want to fight the powers of the evil shadow and follow the quest of Deltora? Read this review and then read The Forests of Silence, first book of the Deltora Quest series.

Part one of The Forests of Silence, told through the eyes of the young king Endon and his companion Jarred, tells how the magic gems of Deltora are lost through treachery and betrayal.

Part two is told through the eyes of Lief, Jarred’s son, and begins 16 years later.  This is where the quest really begins. Lief finds out he has to undertake a quest to find the lost gems of the belt of Deltora.

If you like facts more than fiction you might not like it when the spiritual world comes in, but that’s only a small part of the story. Eight- to 15-year-olds (if they like fantasy) will probably love this book, and the series gets even better as you read it.

Editor’s note: This review was written by Liam, aged 10. Note also that Fishpond’s suggested age range for this book is 5-9, while Amazon’s is 9 and up. Personally I think 5 is a little young. As an adult, I enjoyed reading it with my son.

Other books by Emily Rodda

Deltora Quest Books in Order (Deltora Series 1)

  1. The Forests of Silence (2000)
  2. The Lake of Tears
  3. City of the Rats
  4. The Shifting Sands
  5. Dread Mountain
  6. The Maze of the Beast
  7. The Valley of the Lost
  8. Return to Del

Deltora Shadowlands (Deltora Series 2)

Lief, Barda, and Jasmine are back and must work together to defeat the Shadow Lord in his own realm.

  1. The Cavern of the Fear
  2. The Isle of Illusion
  3. The Shadowlands

Monsters of Deltora

Although The Book of Monsters is usually placed with the Shadowlands Deltora series, it really stands as a one off, full colour book of monsters.

Dragons of Deltora (Deltora Series 3)

The three friends, Lief, Barda, and Jasmine, are still battling the evil of the Shadow Lord, even after his apparent defeat. The last of Deltora’s Dragons are their only hope.

  1. Secrets of Deltora, Emily Rodda, Marc McBrideDragon’s Nest
  2. Shadowgate
  3. Isle of the Dead
  4. The Sister of the South

More Stand-alone Deltora Books

Tales of Deltora – reveals much of the history and truth behind the rise of the Shadow Lord
Secrets of Deltora – is an illustrated travel guide told from the perspective of Doran the Dragonlover

Also by Emily Rodda

NB this is not everything she’s written – Emily Rodda is another prolific writer and has also written picture books and other stories for early readers, mysteries and individual novels.

The Fairy Realm Series’ (there are three series’) I’ve been enjoying reading some of these with my five-year-old daughter, although I’ve found some more enthralling than others (she’s liked them all though).

The Rondo Trilogy

The Rowan of Rin Series

And most recently The Three Doors trilogy, which began with The Golden Key in 2011, with The Silver Door just  released in April 2012.